|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|
|
Inner Tube Pilot
|
Getty Image Invite
Hey guys...
So I just received an email via my Flickr account. The email is an invitation from Getty Images to add 6 photos they selected to their stock image library. I know Getty Images is one of the largest stock image libraries. What I don't know if this is some spam email. It doesn't appear so based on the a cursory search on Google and the fact that the email includes thumbs of the specific images. Any one else get one of these emails? I'm kind of stoked but not sure if I should be. Have to read the contract to see what the deal is on licensing the photos to them. Anyone else have photos on Getty Images and was it worth it to you?
__________________
"I have to keep our UPS guy employed so that's why I order so much stuff online." Quote by My Wife Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums My Smug Site |
|
|
|
|
#2
|
|
|
Always learning
|
Can't help you there but if it is true a big CONGRATS to you!!
|
|
|
|
|
#3
|
|
|
Inner Tube Pilot
|
Thanks Chuck. Yeah... I've searched some more and it doesn't appear to be spam. Appears to be a legit email. It's pretty cool I think. Even if I don't submit my photos or if I do, that they ever get used. Still pretty stoked they would even consider my shots for this.
BTW, I also got one one of my photos of the rice terraces in the Philippines selected by Nat Geo for their stock library. Nothing's come of it but I thought that was pretty cool too.
__________________
"I have to keep our UPS guy employed so that's why I order so much stuff online." Quote by My Wife Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums My Smug Site |
|
|
|
|
#4
|
|
|
Always learning
|
Right place, right time, and the knowledge to know what to do with it.
|
|
|
|
|
#5
|
|
|
San Jose CA
|
This is terrific news.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Absolutely submit the images! Sam
__________________
www.samlinvillephotography.com |
|
|
|
|
#6
|
|
|
Not Like -- the Others
|
Can't promise it's not spam but Getty has an agreement of sorts with Flickr so this smells legit.
Assuming it is CONGRATULATIONS ![]()
__________________
Bilsen (the artist formerly known as John Galt NY) Canon 600D; Canon 450D; Canon S5IS 24-105 f4L IS; 70-200 f4L IS; 50mm 1.4; 18-55 IS; 55-250 IS; 580EX & (2) 430EX Flash, Model Galleries: http://bilsen.zenfolio.com/ Everything Else: www.pbase.com/bilsen |
|
|
|
|
#7
|
|
|
Krazy Korean
|
clearly you should include a shirtless one!
__________________
D700, D600 14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2) 85 and 50 1.4 45 PC and sb910 x2 http://www.danielkimphotography.com |
|
|
|
|
#8
|
|
|
Major grins
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9
|
|
|
Major grins
|
__________________
John : Natural selection is responsible for every living thing that exists. D3s, D700, D300, Way more glass than the wife knows about, LR4, CS5 |
|
|
|
|
#10
|
|
|
making real life prettier
|
yeehaw I am rubbing elbows with the right people!! I knew it all along. Congrats, that is truly outstanding.
__________________
Trudy www.CottageInk.smugmug.com NIKON D700 |
|
|
|
|
#11
|
||
|
Major grins
|
Quote:
If your account has one of the two yes options selected, the email probably isn't spam. You can of course double-check the URLs (visible and hidden) in the email to make sure they do come from Getty, but it's more likely that your images were seen by their editors and they liked them. Which is nice! If your account has the "no thanks" option selected then you should not be getting those emails and the likelihood is higher that it might be spam. The theory there is that since it is a known option, some scammer might try to appeal to the egos of some random Flickrites. But I'll bet what happened is maybe you didn't realize the Getty option was there, and it was on, and Getty saw your photos and decided they were awesome. Hopefully that's what it is! |
|
|
|
||
|
#12
|
|
|
Inner Tube Pilot
|
Thanks guys. It's definitely not spam. I already check with Getty Images and it's legit. Very cool. I'm looking over the contract just to make sure I understand what I'm signing up for before I submit my images. Have to get a model releases for them but that should not be a problem.
__________________
"I have to keep our UPS guy employed so that's why I order so much stuff online." Quote by My Wife Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums My Smug Site |
|
|
|
|
#13
|
|
|
Arcadius Kul
|
cool - Im a Getty contributor as well - but just for a 2 months - If they sent a invite , they sent u inv for two Getty Groups on Flickr as well. Just Join :)
____________________________________________ Wedding Photography Ireland Last edited by coolpinsky; Sep-24-2012 at 07:05 AM. |
|
|
|
|
#14
|
|
|
Texas-Sized Grins
|
Congratulations!!!
|
|
|
|
|
#15
|
|
|
Wants More Glass
|
Good for you dude!
__________________
http://www.fotofixlivonia.com |
|
|
|
|
#16
|
|
|
Weginner winner
|
|
|
|
|
|
#17
|
|
|
Marshall, NC
|
Congrats
I know they have copyrights on a lot of the Nascar photos. I think this would be a great way to sell/rights to some of your photos. Chuck Cassidy, D300S, 50mm 1.4D, 18-200mm VR, 70-300mm VR, www.icurdigital.com |
|
|
|
| Tell The World! | |
| Similar Threads | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | ![]() |
| New - JFriend HTML5 Slideshow beta release! | jfriend | SmugMug Customization | 3569 | May-23-2013 05:27 PM | |
| Comparing Tools and Workflows - A Simple Image | jjbong | Grad School | 11 | Dec-08-2010 02:03 PM | |
| WCC #11 "Roads, Tracks and Trails" | mmmatt | Weddings | 50 | Aug-01-2010 05:33 PM | |
| LPS#8 feedback thread | Shay Stephens | The Dgrin Challenges | 81 | Aug-14-2007 03:31 PM | |
| Skin-tone question for great EZPrints | jfriend | Finishing School | 10 | Dec-01-2005 05:38 PM | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|