Will the AF in the 5D Mark III be identical with the AF in the Canon 1DX???

haringharing Registered Users Posts: 281 Major grins
edited March 28, 2012 in Cameras
Will the AF in the Canon 1Dx be identical with the AF in the Canon 5D Mark III I know it will be similar 61 point AF system but will it be identical?

If yes, why would most of us buy the Canon 1Dx for twice as much? I know the canon frame rate is much higher (faster) but I don't see too much difference between the two cameras which would justify me to spend twice as much for a camera...? I am a wedding photographer and I don't use the video capabilities and I don't really need the high frame rate, either.
What I need is fast and accurate focusing... It is hard to believe that the autofocus in the Canon 5D Mark III will be identical with the one Canon builds into the Canon 1Dx...

I am hesitant to pre-order it... Should I pre-order it??? I am willing to buy only it if it is exactly the same!

Any toughs?

Comments

• Matthew SavilleMatthew Saville Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,352 Major grins
    edited March 4, 2012
    According to some sources, the ONLY thing that is different is the face-detection & tracking capability which only the 1DX has. However, there has been no indication as to whether or not the lack of this feature will have an affect on the 5D mk3's ability to focus equally as fast in general circumstances.

Nikon D700 users had this same dilema when it came out at $2999 compared to the $5K D3. Is the D700 autofocus ACTUALLY identical? Well, I don't think the jury ever even came back on that one, but the bottom line is that it still rocks as much as any flagship autofocus system ought to. So the bottom line here is, in my opinion, that if focus ability is all you care about, the 5D mk3 will rock your world indeed, and the 1DX is indeed overkill for a wedding photographer.