Jones Beach Air Show

moose135moose135 Registered Users Posts: 1,413 Major grins
edited June 2, 2011 in Other Cool Shots
The annual Jones Beach Air Show was held on Long Island over Memorial Day weekend. While the actual air show is Saturday and Sunday down at the beach, it's nearly a week-long event for me, and sometimes I don't even get down to the beach for the show itself.

Most of the participating aircraft stage out of nearby Republic Airport, and park on the ramp at the American Airpower Museum. With arrivals starting Wednesday, and events at the museum continuing through Monday, it's long days and nights for me. I'm a volunteer photographer at the museum, which affords me some "insider" access to the aircraft and personalities, and allows me to capture some amazing images while helping to promote the museum. As such, I usually spend the bulk of my time at the museum/airport, going down to the beach for Friday practice.

This year, the show was looking to be a bit thin - we were due to get the USAF Thunderbirds as the featured performers (they alternate years with the Blue Angels) but the T-Birds were heading to Europe this week...the Air Force scheduled an F-22 Raptor demo in their place, but the Raptor is on a safety related stand-down.:cry

We did get Fifi, the only B-29 flying in the world, a B-17, as well as demos from the Super Hornet and A-10 teams. The museum also has a gaggle of WWII aircraft that they fly, including a B-25, P-40, P-47, and Corsair. Some low fog at the beach played with the schedule Friday and Saturday, but in the end we had another great show.

1 - Fifi taking off for a few laps around the pattern.

JM20110526N529B004-L.jpg