D700 or D800?

BVardyBVardy Registered Users Posts: 58 Big grins
edited March 5, 2012 in Cameras
Firstly, I'm not a pro; I'm a guy who has loved photograph since his teens (Canon A1 days...) and whose main focus is capturing his kids and experiences for posterity. I have a D700 and love it. I was ready to push 'start' on the D800, but had a 'WTF?' moment.

I have grown to LOVE and become addicted to the low-light capabilities and high fps of the 700 (with grip), as both have resulted in some amazing memories I would have otherwise maybe not have been able to capture. I've seen the high-ISO comparisons, which didn't move me (suspect at best), and what's with the reduction in fps?

Matthew Saville said in the 800 v. 800E thread
... So what we're ACTUALLY discussing now is, whether or not a hobbyist should be ALLOWED to feel that same "need" for FPS. We're arguing the difference between "need" and "want" here.

I think that's a pretty weak focus for a discussion, though I know nobody asked my opinion LOL. My point is, even hobbyists are allowed to have standards and "needs". Why not?

I'm that hobbyist. I like the fast fps, and use it often. It makes me better. Maybe 4fps would be enough - I don't know - but even then, at 36mp one would have to hard-wire the body to a 1TB hard drive to spend the day shooting jpg and nef, or carry an extra bag of $200 cards...

Though I would like the extra card slot, and I can see myself using the HD movie thing from time to time, I have just fallen in love all over again with my D700.

Brad

Comments

• Matthew SavilleMatthew Saville Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,352 Major grins
    edited February 23, 2012