My turn - my attempt at SP

Mike JMike J Registered Users Posts: 1,029 Major grins
edited January 20, 2009 in People
Finally found some time to make an attempt at this. This is not easy stuff. Did this late last night after getting ready for our usual 5:30AM start for our Saturday ski day (it was a very warm day on Mt Hood. There were great views but I didn't have my camera as I was busy working at my son's slalom race)

This is my first attempt at "studio" lighting with my still limited equipment (hope that changes soon :D ). Right now I'm limited to my SB-800, a lightsphere, and some Lastolite trigrip reflectors. I tried various arrangements but ended up with the SB-800 with the lightsphere on a bar stool camera right about 2 feet from my the side of my face with a silver reflector about 18" in front of my nose.

The camera setup:
D80 with the my Nikkor 35-70 f/2.8 lens which I'm growing quite fond of.
The popup flash was used to trigger the off-camera SB-800 in TTL mode.

456594101_m4NX5-L.jpg

What don't I like about this?
  • The shadow "cutting" my throat. Perhaps using the on-camera flash for a bit of fill would have helped here?
  • This was shot at f5 and should have been up at f8
  • All of the signs of my advancing age
  • Like Scott, I found myself quite warm moving back and forth and I have more surface area than he does towards the top of my head to reflect that warmth. Hey, what's that saying? Oh yea, somethings are created perfectly and the rest are covered with hair :D
  • My lack of smile - I find it hard to "smile" on command.
  • Cut off part of my head!
Open to any and all suggestions...
Mike J

Comments and constructive criticism always welcome.
www.mikejulianaphotography.com
Facebook

Comments

• divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited January 18, 2009
    Great start with this, I think thumb.gif

My initial response is mainly that it's soft - my (novice) hunch is that stopping down will probably help that.