Options

Pros and cons of photography as a career (your experiences)

skywalkerbethskywalkerbeth Registered Users Posts: 49 Big grins
edited June 18, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
Hi everyone,

I am a rank newbie here, and just an amateur hobbyist. I enjoy taking photos and I'm sure (like everyone starting out) thinks "boy, this is more fun than a real job, wouldn't it be great to do this full time". (NO PLANS to do so... at least until I am self sufficient without a day job - i.e. retirement)

I'm friends with a professional photographer and I get the sense that he's burnt out and while he makes very good money from it (much too good to walk away from) he's sick of the lifestyle (lack thereof?) and after achieving his success he's finding it isn't all what it's cracked up to be. I get the sense from him that it's a very isolated lifestyle but it may be the type of photography he's chosen and the fact that he is doing it solo, no partners.

So, it got me wondering:

If you are a pro photographer, is it working out the way you expected - I don't mean monetarily only, I mean satisfaction?

How did you choose your path - is it a second career, is it all you've ever wanted to do, is it part time? Is it as fun as you expected it to be?

What kind of photography do you do? Do you see yourself doing this long term, or after a number of years are you planning to dial back and just make it a hobby?

It seems to me that it is a great deal of work and if you plan to survive on it, your business skills need to be at least as good as your photography skills and maybe even better - and that you may end up spending more time on the business aspect than the photography itself.

Anyway, just curious what others' experiences are. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    SnowgirlSnowgirl Registered Users Posts: 2,155 Major grins
    edited November 9, 2008