Options

Formal education in photography & videography

MooseKillerMooseKiller Registered Users Posts: 29 Big grins
edited October 23, 2009 in The Big Picture
So I have been doing some soul searching recently, and I am giving some thought to a career change. In about 4 years, my wife and I will be heading somewhere warmer than Alaska, and that seems as good of a time as any to pursue a new vocation. Since there is time, I want to prepare myself as best possible... I have been an amateur photographer for years and still consider myself a nOOb. I have little experience with editing software such as PhotoShop. I have also just started poking around with videography and editing, and I am teaching myself Final Cut Express. Here's where I am at:

I already have a BSOE in Business from Wayland, so all my undergrad requirements have been met. My local university has photography classes but no real degree or certification, and nothing in videography/editing. While it is a start, I'd like something more as I feel some sort of degree or certification will help me be more employable.

My questions to all of you are:

For those who are employed, what type of degree/cert. and experience do you have, and where did you get it?

For those who are self employed, do you have a degree/cert. and do you feel it helps if you do?

Did anyone pursue a degree online?

I have done the Internet search (and forum search here as well) looking for the right fit. I will say that an accredited university is more to my liking as I want to invest in something meaningful, but I do not discount the technical education one can receive from a school that doesn't have accreditation. Schools such as Full Sail University seem like fun, but woefully overpriced (no offense intended if anyone attended Full Sail - In fact, I'd love to hear from you if you did)...

Also, if there is anything that I am overlooking, please let me know!

Thank you to all you DGrinners for your input! :ear

Comments

• Options