Options

RAW file processing

EpicurosEpicuros Registered Users Posts: 7 Big grins
edited September 2, 2011 in Finishing School
I have a "silly" question but I am stuck! (I must be missing something):
I have been shooting raw(+jpg) on my digital cameras since 2006 and have been using DPP Canon software to convert raw into TIFF. I understand that RAW images are not visible untill they are converted to TIFF or JPG. How can I process a raw file if I cannot see the image? In DPP, for instance, I have not been able to see just raw images (without their jpg counterpart) and had to convert them using "Raw Therapee" software. But then they were tiff images and I lost the Raw advantage.
I am utterly confused! Any light to my gloomy mood?

Comments

• Options
    arodneyarodney Registered Users Posts: 2,005 Major grins
    edited February 25, 2010
    Epicuros wrote:
    I understand that RAW images are not visible untill they are converted to TIFF or JPG.

Not really. You need a raw converter (like DPP, or Adobe Camera Raw or Lightroom) which “shows” you the current rendering of the image IF you processed the data to a TIFF or JPEG. So all you need is the right software that can handle raw data (render it) as you desire and build pixels into that TIFF or JPEG.

See
    http://wwwimages.adobe.com/www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/family/prophotographer/pdfs/pscs3_renderprint.pdf
    Andrew Rodney
    Author "Color Management for Photographers"
    http://www.digitaldog.net/
  • Options
    zoomerzoomer Registered Users Posts: 3,688 Major grins
    edited February 25, 2010
    Unless you are a working professional there is no need to shoot Raw.
    Go back to shooting Jpeg and rediscover the joy of photography, dump the headaches of Raw.

The benefit is not visible, I promise you if there were two photos side by side of the same scene one done in raw and one done in jpeg, 99% of people could not tell you which was which.

That should cheer you up!
  • Options