Options

Semi Newb question on Camcorders.

SCPSCP Registered Users Posts: 100 Major grins
edited July 9, 2010 in Video
I have been doing Horse show photography now for going on 4 years. Some of my most loyal clients and shows have asked me if I could start providing Video. I of course said 'Sure.. No problem.'

This isn't a problem at all. I have the skills and talent to do this. (And the degree to back it up) I have done video before but I don't have my own cam and I am not starting the research to find a nice (Read-Inexpensive) cam.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

I would likely need larger memory. (At least 10 hours of video)
Good battery life. (Again I would need at least 10 hours of continuous video)
Ease of use and able to be used quickly. (For set up, Mobility..)
A good autofocus, Zoom and audio pick up.
Ease of transfer onto the computer.

Thanks so much to everyone in advance.
Kandie Kingery

Become a fan of Stone Creek Photography

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,806 moderator
    edited July 8, 2010
    What video size/aspect ratio for acquisition? (SD/DVD, 720P, 1080i, 1080p)
    What frame rate? (23.976, 24, 29.97, 30, 59.94, 60)
    What compressor for acquisition? (DV, HDV, AVCHD)
    What file wrapper? (AVI, MOV)
    Is "rolling shutter" and rapid action going to be an issue?
    Low-light sensitivity?

When you say "At least 10 hours of (recorded) video" and "Good battery life. (Again I would need at least 10 hours of continuous video)", do you mean 10 hours of non-stop video or will there be opportunities for changing out video storage and camcorder batteries?

When you say "a nice (Read-Inexpensive) cam.", do you have an approximate budget?

Do you have a computer and software capable of handling the intended video format? (1080i/1080p requires a very modern and fast computer and large, fast hard drives. Not all software is compatible with all video formats.)