Options

7D Video files

MnemosyneMnemosyne Registered Users Posts: 251 Major grins
edited July 19, 2010 in Video
I have heard stories that 7D video files aren't usable straight out of the camera on 3rd party software. And I've searched but see something specific to my question

I use Final Cut, but it's an old version, DEFINITELY before SLR video. Can I import the video files directly with no conversion or fiddling with other stuff? If not, what's the easiest way to do this.
Audentes fortuna iuvat

Comments

• Options
    colourboxcolourbox Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins
    edited July 18, 2010
    I'm not a video expert but the issue with the editing software, as I understand it, is not about compatibility, but performance. I have imported Canon 7D files into old obsolete Final Cut Pro 4 right into the Timeline and you can edit. The problem is that you constantly have to render the timeline (slooow) because the compression used in the original video is too CPU-intensive to decode and render quickly enough for real time with edits. What people do, even on the latest Final Cut, is transcode the originals to Apple ProRes copies, to optimize the files for smooth editing performance, and edit with those. The problem with transcoding is that you end up editing with a second copy of your footage that is many times larger than the original, so not only are you tracking more files, but your disk space goes bye bye very fast.

There are iMovie users who say they edit SLR video without transcoding, but what they don't realize is iMovie, being a consumer product, is transcoding behind your back.

The dark horse in all this is Adobe Premiere Pro CS5. It claims to let you drop high-res footage like 7D clips right on the timeline and edit at good performance without having to make those bloated copies, due to its use of not only all CPU cores, but the GPU as well. I don't have it, though.
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,809 moderator