Options

Choosing video formats

SteveFSteveF Registered Users Posts: 466 Major grins
edited April 17, 2009 in Video
Hello,

I'm just starting a project to bring a bunch of DV tapes onto my computer. I'm relatively new to video for a level of discussion marker.

I'm on a Mac (8 core, 16gb ram, big fast hard drive) and have iMovie '08 and Quicktime Pro (came with my machine) and have figured out how to import the tapes, do some basic editing into shorter clips, do transitions, etc.

My question regards file formats to save things in (MPEG-4, AVI, etc.) - each file will be about 2-8 minutes long. In iMovie under video format one option is H.264 which seems to be good. There are a bunch of different size options ranging from 160x120 to 1920x1080, and a bunch of other options for sound, etc.

With photos I know exactly how to do this. With video many of these terms are new to me.

Now to the questions:

I would like to first save the file in the highest quality format, as an "archive" or "backup" of the tape. Not just a duplicate of the tape, but edited into smaller cuts that are watchable.

I would also like to save the file as a smaller version suitable for web viewing - maybe 900 (or so) pix on the longest side.

If there is another program that would give me a better format option or controls I'd be willing to get it to do this project "right" from the start as opposed to doing it again later.

Could someone please recommend which formats would be best to use for these two needs?

thanks very much!

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,815 moderator
    edited November 6, 2008
    Steve,