Options

Suggestions for video camera purchase

MnemosyneMnemosyne Registered Users Posts: 251 Major grins
edited March 13, 2009 in Video
I'm looking to branch out into video more frequently and I was wondering if anyone had some suggestions.

Right now I'm considering the Canon GL2, but I believe it's not HD. That is kind of a key thing for me, I want quality. I also am wondering if HD is possible with tape, because I've been told tape is better quality than digital still.

Does anyone have any good suggestions of what to look at?

PS. Preferably something compatible with MAC and Final Cut

Thanks
Audentes fortuna iuvat

Comments

• Options
    digidronedigidrone Registered Users Posts: 280 Major grins
    edited March 4, 2009
    I have been abusing my Sony HVR-A1U for 3 years now. Absolutly have loved it.
    I am looking to upgrade though,and I believe i will go with the Canon. This is due to their onboard audio.
    I love the Mini DV tape format. Easy to store, cost effective. The most important reason is storing them cuz ya never now when a computer system or hard drive is going to try to "do ya"...rolleyes1.gif Its nice to go and reload material if damaged or lost.
    I havent seen any footage from the new gen still cameras so I cant say anything ne_nau.gif It seems to me to be a dangerous problem with saving things to a card, then formatting it, then its gone.

My .02 worth
  • Options
    darkdragondarkdragon Registered Users Posts: 1,051 Major grins
    edited March 4, 2009
    GL2 i a nice camera, but you are right it is only SD. I actually prefer th DVX100B for SD video.

You can get a number HD miniDV cams. If you like canon there is the XHA1 which is similar to the GL2 but HD and larger (better quality too, just making the comparison).