Options

HDR Advice

RoadkillRoadkill Registered Users Posts: 494 Major grins
edited January 2, 2009 in Technique
I have been playing with this and I am having some difficulty.

This one was processed with CS3 using 5 images 1 stop appart. Once processed I adjusted the sky via a new layer adjustment with levels and channel mixer, than used the burn tool to eliminate any halo effect around the horizon and to dim any hot spots. I also used another adjustment layer for saturation and contrast.

I am probably not using the tools correctly or in the best order since I am still a noob when it comes to photoshop. Any tips, tricks or advice would be greatly appreciated.

When I processed the image with photomatix, it came out much more vibrant and dynamic, but it had a bunch of noise in the shadows, so I gave up on it for the moment.

442997516_HG9QX-L.jpg

Comments

• Options
    ashbyashby Registered Users Posts: 72 Big grins
    edited December 31, 2008
    I'll bet you are disappointed in the lack of replies to your post. I like the image a lot and am about to try my first HDR shots tomorrow. If I get similar results, I will be very happy.
  • Options
    edited December 31, 2008
    Yes I was... but thats ok.

I'll just keep on reading, exploring and experimenting until I am bored with it and move on.

Good luck with your attempts and please let me know what you learn.
  • Options
    anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
    edited December 31, 2008
    I have been playing around with HDR the last couple of days. I use Photomatix Pro as I don't really like the results from CS3.

What I have found is using too many exposures will introduce the noise you are talking about. Especially if you use a shot where the blacks are clipped. I would use the three shots that cover the most range without too much clipping of the blacks or loss of details in the highlights.