Sony Lens Question

goldilocksandmy3bearsgoldilocksandmy3bears Registered Users Posts: 423 Major grins
edited January 14, 2009 in Accessories
Hello all - I am new to photography and have posted a few photos of mine on here. I am currently using a Sony DSLR A200 and I'm looking for a new lens. If possiable an all purpose lens - until I get better at taking photos. The majority of my pictures will be done outdoors until I get the lighting needed (or get creative) for indoors. And whats this I've read about renting equipment and accessories???:dunno Thanks for any help!!
Courtney

Comments

• PupatorPupator Registered Users Posts: 2,322 Major grins
    edited January 14, 2009
    There are not a lot of places available for renting Sony/Minolta gear - not like Nikon and Canon at least.

Without knowing much about what you're shooting I can make a few recommendations. There really isn't such thing as an all-purpose lens unless you're buying a very high end f/2.8 lens that also happens to be good at the "easier" situations.

If you want to spend in the $300-400 range - buy the Tamron 17-50 2.8. It's a recent purchase of mine (recommended by many here) and it's amazing. Great indoors, great outdoors and the 17 is just wide enough on our crop sensors.

If you're looking to spend less, check out KEH.com. On the drop-down menu on the left choose "Minolta Auto Focus" (wait for reload) then choose either Zoom Lens, fixed focal length, or the Non-manuf. version of either of those. All the lenses under "Minolta Auto Focus" will work on your camera.

If you're looking for good zoom - go with a Minolta 70-210 (either the f/4 "beercan," which is great - or the f/3.5-4.5 which isn't quite as good but weighs much less.) You can get those for under $200, and sometimes under $100.

If you're looking for a good walk-around lens, try the Minolta 28-105 f/3.5-4.5. This has great range, great color rendition, and good overall IQ. It can be had cheap as well.