Options

which software to use?

lilmommalilmomma Registered Users Posts: 1,060 Major grins
edited March 17, 2009 in Finishing School
I'm really new at this and am trying some trials...I'm not experienced enough to justify spending a lot of money on photoshop cs3 or 4 (?), but I was thinking about Photoshop elements..does anyone use this and what are the biggest differences? I'm trying to learn all about this and I have also played with Paint Shop Pro. Is that comparable more to elements or cs3?

Any advice is appreciated, I am literally starting from scratch. I have been lurking for a few weeks and am very inspired, very eager to learn but also still so clueless!:D

Comments

• Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited March 7, 2009
    Since you are just begining.........I presume you shoot in jpeg mode only......if it were me I would get a copy of Scott Kelby's book.......Lightroom for Digital Photographers and I would work thru it with Lightroom and learn to shoot in raw.........I have 3 versions of Photoshop and I nave Lightroom 2.......99.9% of all my work is performed in Lightroom.......I also use it as my library for keeping my photos where I know where they are and accessable......but any and all of Scott Kelby's books are useful and very helpful and they are written with ease of use in mind...................So my vote would be top start with Lightroom 2............To get the most out of your photos you really need to shoot in raw mode.......if you do not want to spend the money on LR2 then use the raw converter that came with your camera..........BTW Elements isa very fine piece of software.......I used it once in a class back in its infancy but I was already trying to learn photoshop 5 at the time...........
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website

• Options