Options

Basic Canon equipment recommended for a novice with a limited budget

lisarhinehartlisarhinehart Registered Users Posts: 279 Major grins
edited March 12, 2009 in Cameras
I am not being modest in any way when I classify my self as basic, self taught and starting small, I’m beginning to think that may have been an overstatement, considering the caliber of the photographers on dgrin. That is good and challenging, and hopefully I will be able to fit in here, and learn. I have a lot to learn.

My equipment is Canon Digital Rebel XT EOS, SLR. I have the factory lens and recently purchased a Canon Macro EF-S 60mm 1:2.8 USM. Now that I probably come across as pathetic you may not want to view my galleries, but are welcome to at www.lisarhinehart.smugmug.com. If you view them in “critique” you can see I mostly used a point and shoot, so bear that in mind. I think I have done well with limited resources, and am excited to get a few more and learn some more, and see what I can do.

A little more background on me: I started selling my (mostly) nature photography 2 years ago. I made enough profit in the first year to pay off my inventory (25 matted framed 8x10 enlargements), 150 note cards, EZ-up tent, business cards and other supplies. I made enough profit my second year to buy a Cannon Rebel and pay for this site.

I am looking to see what to purchase with my third year’s profits (once I get there) with a long term goal of being a second shooter for weddings (maybe) or portraits (maybe). I am looking to spend likely $700 or so on equipment and asking for suggestions of the most essential bare-bones items. Bearing that in mind, what do you think would be essential for me? I welcome your feedback and hope that this establishes where I’m coming from.
Lisa
My Website

Comments

• Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited March 10, 2009