Options

what the get? $500 budget?

ayonka89ayonka89 Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited April 15, 2009 in Cameras
Hi everyone! I'm very very new to all of this so please bear with me. I need help buying a camera...but I'm SO confused on what to get. I have a 500 budget and it will be used mostly for portraits.....any ideas? I want to be able to take pictures like this (here is a pic of my daughter) thanks in advance :)

i might even be able to spend as much as 600 actually..
http://img27.imageshack.us/my.php?image=professionalpics2003.jpg

Comments

• Options
    PupatorPupator Registered Users Posts: 2,322 Major grins
    edited April 12, 2009
    Folks will recommend cameras from their favorite systems (brands), so I'll make a recommendation from Sony.

First, take $39 and buy yourself a Smugmug account. What good is a camera without a beautiful way to display and share the pictures?

Then, I'd check the Buy/Sell --> The Other Guys forum and see if you can find an A100, A200, or A350 for sale <$300. Also check the forums at dyxum.com - you'll have more luck there since those forums are all Sony/Minolta users.

You ought to be able to get an A100 for ~$200. Even better if you can get an A200 for $250.

Then find (same forums) a used Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8.

That would be the best possible thing you could do with your $500 in the world of Sony.

Others will come along and tell you about your best options with Nikon, Canon, and Olympus.
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,904 moderator
    edited April 12, 2009
    ayonka89 wrote:
    Hi everyone! I'm very very new to all of this so please bear with me. I need help buying a camera...but I'm SO confused on what to get. I have a 500 budget and it will be used mostly for portraits.....any ideas? I want to be able to take pictures like this (here is a pic of my daughter) thanks in advance :)

Ayonka89, welcome to the Digital Grin. clap.gif