Options

red eye with flash

rhdesignsrhdesigns Registered Users Posts: 87 Big grins
edited April 20, 2009 in Technique
Im kinda new to shooting with flash in the dark. Im using a d300, with the sb-900 flash and trying to shoot motorcycle races at night. I was wondering if there is anyway that i can get away from having red eyes in the shots?
thanks
ryan

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited April 18, 2009
    Yes.

Move your flash off your camera about 15 feet to your right or left.eek7.gif

On a more serious note, the red eye occurs because your flash tube is very near to your shooting axis, and the rider's pupils are widely dilated to allow them to see in the dim light.

You can correct the red eye with software after the fact, but to avoid getting it when shooting with on camera flash after dark will probably not be possible. The distance between you and your subjects makes the angle between the flash and the shooting axis get closer and closer as you shoot from farther away from your subjects.

Really Right Stuff does make flash brackets to raise the flash 8 - 15 inches or so higher than your telephoto lens axis, and wildlife shooters do find them helpful, but they tend to be shooting slowly from a heavy tripod, and I doubt you would like the imbalance raising your flash 15 inches or so. It will create an unwieldy package for fast hand held tracking at a motorcycle event.

Some Point & Shoots use a preflash to constrict the pupil before the real exposure, but this will not work for a shooting a high speed motosports event.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • Options
    rhdesignsrhdesigns Registered Users Posts: 87 Big grins
    edited April 19, 2009