Options

Is it just me or does this look soft?

happysmileyladyhappysmileylady Registered Users Posts: 195 Major grins
edited May 12, 2009 in Cameras
I was looking through some shots from the past week and some of them looked a little soft. So, I snapped some test shots with different lenses and now I can't tell what might be looking soft and what might just be my eyes

So, do these look soft to you?

IMG_2995.jpg?t=1241046778
Tv( Shutter Speed )
1/125
Av( Aperture Value )

ISO Speed
Lens
17.0 - 50.0mm
Focal Length
50.0mm

IMG_2993-1.jpg?t=1241047283

Tv( Shutter Speed )
1/125
Av( Aperture Value )

ISO Speed
Lens
17.0 - 50.0mm
Focal Length
50.0mm

IMG_3008.jpg?t=1241047486

Tv( Shutter Speed )
1/250
Av( Aperture Value )
ISO Speed
Lens
50.0mm
Focal Length
50.0mm

I just started playing around with the lenses and shutter speeds and stuff to see what I ended up with.

So my question is, do these look soft to you or is it just my eyes? And if they do look soft, why?

ETA: I think the top one looks the sharpest, but the middle one used the same settings and lense.

ETA2: The top two used my tamron 17-50mm 2.8, the last was my canon 50mm 1.8

Comments

• Options
    Just0a0guyJust0a0guy Registered Users Posts: 23 Big grins
    edited April 29, 2009
    First let me say you have a beautiful baby and congrats.
    Second how are you focusing? If you are using AF make sure you control the focal point or zone. You may also want to try a simple test with a ruler and pen to check for front or back focusing. Two lenses will have two different offsets for front or back focusing and can also vary between two camera bodies. looking at the last picture it looks like your ether front focusing or focused on your child's forehead. On the second picture it looks like the focus is best at the shoulder. you may want to step down one fstop for increased DOF but I have to say i enjoy the blurred background from the wide open aperture.