Options

Could really use some advice

buckeyenutbuckeyenut Registered Users Posts: 29 Big grins
edited May 15, 2009 in Sports
I have been shooting my daughters sports for a few years and although I have gotten a lot of good pictures and the parents love them, I never seem to be able to get that amazingly focused and perfect exposure shot. I have been using a Canon 40D with a 70-200L non IS lens. I typically shoot in Aperture Priority mode using center point focus and evaluative metering. I change the aperture quite a bit really just not know which is going to get me the best picture. I don't do any other adjustments.

I have been learning a lot over the last few years but would love for some good advice and simple steps I could take to get a better exposure out of the camera and better focus on faces and overall. My site is at the bottom so feel free to take a look at some of the pictures. I am probably too picky but it sure seems like some of the soccer and baseball pictures posted in this forum look better then anything I have taken.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give. :rofl

Comments

• Options
    tdinardotdinardo Registered Users Posts: 98 Big grins
    edited May 15, 2009
    Some things to consider:

Learn to use your camera in manual mode (not manual focus). Learn what each setting does and why you should/should not make adjustments to it. I would recommend reading these two books to improve your understanding of exposure and shutter speed:

http://www.amazon.com/Understanding-Exposure-Photographs-Digital-Updated/dp/0817463003/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1242360951&sr=8-1

http://www.amazon.com/Understanding-Shutter-Speed-Low-Light-Photography/dp/0817463011/ref=pd_sim_b_1