Options

Pricing question

MarloweMarlowe Registered Users Posts: 219 Major grins
edited May 26, 2009 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
I'm an event photographer specializing in bike racing and recently have been approached by the owner of a local team to start a gallery on my website exclusively for that team, for this season. He wants the medium sized photos available to his team for download (right click & save) and keep the print purchase option in the album for potential buyers.

In my experience once someone has a jpeg for their own use they are not likely to buy a print from me, that's why my downloads are priced at $15 for personal use. If it was cheaper than my 5x7's they'd just get the download and run off their own prints.

Anyway there's no way of knowing how many event shots I'll get of his team and my questions are, if anyone has encountered anything like this, first should I minimize the number of images I offer (per rider/per race?) over the season, and second, how should I price such a service?:scratch

Just to put a number on the photos, I may get 4 or 5 shots on average of each rider per event, and maybe 10-15 events for the year. I have no idea how many riders on the team yet.

Thanks,
Jon

Comments

• Options
    termina3termina3 Registered Users Posts: 158 Major grins
    edited May 24, 2009
    I'm the business manager for a high school sports photography (think traditional, ball-based sports) company.

We post tons of photos of lots of kids. What we've found is that parents will go through and buy EVERY photo of their child, so we post 10 photos where we'd normally only put up 2 (note: the quality is consistently good, but lots of times you'll get three different photos of the same play). So that should answer one of your questions.

Downloads are a bad idea. I would suggest