Options

Decisions, decisions (Canon lens choices)

divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
edited June 25, 2009 in Accessories
Shooting on an xsi - no new body in my immediate future (although when I see the low noise and amazing yumminess of full frame shots, my mouth waters!! However, nothing on the horizon since I'm not a pro so can't justify it on those grounds, and I don't have the $ to indulge just because it makes me happy :cry). Low-light (ie performance) and portraits seem to be making up the bulk of my shooting right now, and I tend to shoot at the widest appropriate aperture I can anyway because I prefer the look.

Existing lenses:
Tam 17-50
85 1.8

Own but haven't been using much:
50 1.8
EF 70-210 (the old push-pull one)
EF-s 55-250is

Recently, I spotted a bargain 100 2.0 on Keh; I find with the 85 in performance situations that I could use a little more reach -I've slightly regretted getting the 85 instead of the 100 and wanted to try it so I went ahead and ordered it.

In the meantime, I just became acquainted withi the 200 2.8L prime -a used copy of the Mk 1 would be in my price range if I can find one, and I think it could be a great tele solution for me being lighter, cheaper and less conspicuous than fast zooms.

I have also been eyeing a 50mm 1.4 for some time now, but since I seem to be taking more portraits with the 85mm than either of the 50's I have, I guess I can live with the 1.8 for a little longer if need be, much though I love the ide of the wider aperture.

So here's my dilemma.