Options

Polarizing Filter effect comparison

amp'damp'd Registered Users Posts: 59 Big grins
edited July 2, 2009 in Accessories
I may have done my experiment incorrectly, but I tried! My hubby bought me a polarizing filter and I wanted to see exactly what it did that was so different to not having one. I took boring pictures- so excuse that part. These are Raw images, turned directly to jpg- I didn't sharpen or contrast or anything. I hope they aren't too large. Still figuring out the forum. =0)

The first is without the filter.
Specs are 200mm, f/13, 180 iso, 1/50s
4932_1150561613637_1515511540_374132_1398194_n.jpg

This next one is WITH the filter. I had to open up the aperture more, and decrease the iso to keep it from getting too dark. 200mm, f/5.6, 100 iso, 1/50s. The wind was blowing too.
4932_1150561533635_1515511540_374130_8038660_n.jpg

Yes boring pictures. But I was suprised to see detail in the leaves without overexposing the sky.

I am not a photoshop pro and I am told this can not be replicated in PS- so this is a useful filter to have yes?

Comments

• Options
    NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited June 18, 2009
    amp'd wrote:
    I may have done my experiment incorrectly, but I tried! My hubby bought me a polarizing filter and I wanted to see exactly what it did that was so different to not having one. I took boring pictures- so excuse that part. These are Raw images, turned directly to jpg- I didn't sharpen or contrast or anything. I hope they aren't too large. Still figuring out the forum. =0)

I am not a photoshop pro and I am told this can not be replicated in PS- so this is a useful filter to have yes?

Congrats on getting CP.
    Mind you:
    1) they are mostly effective at 90 degrees from the sun
    2) they may create unpleasant effect if used on wide angle lenses
    3) they can be also used to control reflection off the glass and water (semitrasparent surfaces)