Options

I have $$ to burn, what to buy??

VayCayMomVayCayMom Registered Users Posts: 1,870 Major grins
edited July 6, 2009 in Cameras
Don't ask how it happened, but I have come into a sudden small windfall, that my hubby does not know about. I will do good things and pay bills and such, put a big chunk away for a rainy day,.. but I can afford to spend some on photography. 5 - 10,000. !! Maybe a bit more.

The ONLY hitch is, that it must be stuff that hubby will not notice. He doesn't know what kind of camera I have or even how many lenses. So I am thinking even a camera, they all look big and black to him. Lenses , great choice. Maybe a new monitor, I might be able to pull that off. But, sigh, no studio lights, backdrops, big stuff that will raise his eyebrows, lol.

I am a newbie, I still am learning how to control my camera, I have BIG ambitions, raw talent, lot's of TIME!I want to take awesome portraits and someday make $$ with shooting children, and families mostly.
I LOVE to photograph children. I want a studio with cool props oneday,:deadhorse dream on. :rolleyes I am 56 years old.

I currently own Nikon d 300, a tripod, a sb 800 nikon flash, Nikon kit lens 18 - 70, Nikon 85 1.4 ( love that one), Nikon 18 - 200 vibration reduction, Sigma 10 - 20 I think . I already own stuff beyond my skill level, but I read and study everyday, I am old but making progress! :ivar

I have read reviews, found things that i had to have and then got them on impulse, but NOW I need to know how to best invest to help me meet my goals to one day be really good, and i KNOW it is NOT about the equipment, BUT if I have $$ that may help, why not use it. I have wonderful software, Photoshop cs4 and a decent computer just for my photos.Sony monitor, just cheap one.

Thanks for any input, I have learned more here than I can express.!
Trudy
www.CottageInk.smugmug.com

NIKON D700

Comments

• Options
    wadesworldwadesworld Registered Users Posts: 139 Major grins
    edited June 30, 2009