Options

Smudge painting

patrepatre Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited August 24, 2009 in Finishing School
I noted that someone on this site had an interest in smudge painting. So I decided to become a member and share paintings and ideas, if the smudge painting interest still exists. I am not a commercial artist and simply smudge paint for fun. Most of my work is displayed on my website:

http://www.patthompsonsmudgepaintinggallery.com/

Are site members allowed to smudge paint the photographs contributed to the site?

Thanks,
Patre(Pat Thompson)

Comments

• Options
    David_S85David_S85 Administrators Posts: 13,203 moderator
    edited August 20, 2009
    patre wrote:
    I noted that someone on this site had an interest in smudge painting. So I decided to become a member and share paintings and ideas, if the smudge painting interest still exists. I am not a commercial artist and simply smudge paint for fun. Most of my work is displayed on my website:

Are site members allowed to smudge paint the photographs contributed to the site?

Thanks,
    Patre(Pat Thompson)

Not sure I understand your question. Are you asking if photos posted by DGrinners here on this site can be edited and/or shown somewhere else? Or if you can display your own work here?
    My Smugmug
    "You miss 100% of the shots you don't take" - Wayne Gretzky
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited August 21, 2009
    Generally speaking, it is not considered good etiquette to edit someone else's online image without their express consent or request. Indeed, some feel it is theft if done so. That is why copyright is within the legal system.

Dgrin is a forum for photographers, so a fair amount of editing of other folks images does occur, but most of us try to do it only with the express request of the original poster, and not assume a general consent just because the image is online.