Options

Cheap Ways to get 430ex Off Camera

CasonCason Registered Users Posts: 414 Major grins
edited August 27, 2009 in Accessories
I’ve dodge this type of photography for a long time. I think it’s time to jump on the OCF wagon. I have a 30D and a 430ex. I have some knowledge on how to use the flash. Such as diffuse the light, bounce the light, never straight on, yadda, yadda, yadda.

I can’t wrap my head around what I need in order to go off camera. I’ve been researching and like what I am reading about Radio Poppers. Am I right in saying that I can shoot a high speed sync of 1/8000 and not get the shutter black out? However, I can't see myself spending $500 on RadioPoppers PX transmitter and receiver.

I want to test the waters of OCF without blowing the my wallet to pieces. What are some options?
Cason

www.casongarner.com

5D MkII | 30D | 50mm f1.8 II | 85mm f1.8 | 24-70mm f2.8
L | 70-200mm f2.8L IS II | Manfrotto 3021BPRO with 322RC2

Comments

• Options
    bretbret Registered Users Posts: 61 Big grins
    edited August 26, 2009
    The 430EX has no PC Sync terminal that you would need to use it with Pocketwizards. So that's out.

Normally, you would use the 430EX off camera as a Slave with either another on-camera flash acting as the Master unit or the ST-E2 transmitter mounted on-camera. The downside of doing this is that the Slave must be able to "see" the Master or the ST-E2 by direct line-of-sight in order to pick up the signal. Radio Poppers attempt to address this problem by converting the light signals to radio signals and then transmitting them back to light signals at the Slave unit.
    I've never used them, but it sounds like a neat plan, albeit a more expensive setup than just getting the ST-E2.

Your other option is to use an off-camera shoe cord like the new OC-E3. This works great, but you are limited to the length of the cord which is only about two feet. I believe some DIYers have made longer cables from this, however.

-bret
  • Options