Options

Camera download vs. Card Reader?

mtbparkermtbparker Registered Users Posts: 60 Big grins
edited September 4, 2009 in Technique
Pathfinder wrote:
Ara, get a card reader, do not download images directly from your camera. Lots of reasons for this; just get a good USB 2.0 card reader

All,

Hello. I was reading another thread here in these forums and I read this comment (above). Pathfinder mentioned that you should download your photos by card reader vice directly downloading from the camera. This caught me TOTALLY by surprise. I then went back to the photography book I'm reading and found a little "tip" on the side that says, "When downloading photos from your camera, it's easier and safer to use a card reader instead of connecting your camera directly to your computer." So two independent sources say the same thing. But I'm at a complete loss as to why.

Pathfinder, if you're out there or if anyone else knows the answer, can you please enlighten me? I'm a software engineer by trade -- 15+ years. To me, I thought transferring a file was simply bits over a wire. Is there some sort of conversion or compression going on? And I definitely don't understand the "safer" part of the tip that I read in my book.

In the interest of not hijacking the other thread, I'm starting this new one.

Thanks in advance,
Tom
Tom Parker

Comments

• Options
    CoryUTCoryUT Registered Users Posts: 367 Major grins
    edited September 1, 2009
    Hi Tom! Electrical Engineer here.

You're right that we are simply transferring bits over a wire, but every form of communication has some kind of structure. As a software engineer you are probably familiar with packetizing and handshaking, both of which are part of the USB protocol. The data has to be prepared, transmitted, and received. If you transfer from your camera, the camera then has to do a bit of work to send the files over.