Options

Really discouraged....

JAGJAG Super Moderators Posts: 9,088 moderator
edited September 22, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
I have been with smugmug going on 2 years with a pro account. I have over this time not sold anything through the website. ALL of my sales have been locally here through contracted shoots that I have done and are paid here and sometimes printed here (Alaska). I am also a graphic artist and make poster's and DVD covers, ect, which are also contracted and not printed through smug. I have done individual portraits as well as theatrical plays (those have made me money off the site..but not through smug.).

I would like to sell stock downloads and have priced many of my galleries as such. But I also have prints for sale too on things like scenic images. I have a list of people who want me to make a calander of my images (which I have through smugs partner offer) but I find it cumbersome to have to upfront the money for that verses them directly ordering through my site. Not to mention it costs me so much more for shipping. That I guess this is a different problem.

I can average up to 50,000 hits a month on my site from all over the world, yet no sales. And I get all kinds of comments. I advertise my site on google, FB, as well as a dozen other sites around the web.

I have knocked my prices to what I consider rock bottom...yet still no one buys. I know my work is worth it. I have printed lots and lots of things (through smugmug as well as the local printer in my town) and I have sold large prints for over $100 each here in my town. I have marketed myself in my town pretty well for what I am willing to do. I have even gotten several jobs that found my galleries on smug and contacted me personally to do work for them locally.