Options

Head shot of child-comments?

kidzmomkidzmom Registered Users Posts: 828 Major grins
edited September 26, 2009 in People
Hi all!
So I'm new to wanting to take "good" portraits...not at all new to taking "snapshots". I have recently been trying to move away from the snapshot realm, into the more artistic-expressive realm. I bought a 15 mp Canon strapped on a 50mm f/1.8 lens have been playing with it now for a month or so. Any input on this picture? How I could make it better...what this would rank on good to great scale? How could I improve? THANKS. I'm hoping to get better and better!
Kelly

Comments

• Options
    angevin1angevin1 Registered Users Posts: 3,403 Major grins
    edited September 23, 2009
    Hi,

I like this photo. For me, it does not even compare to the Kaitlyn photo from the other thread you posted. I like it just the way it is, though a tighter crop would also work. letting only her frame the photo, versus having some of the BG off to the right. And of course, you could still process this more if wanted for varieties sake...looks to me you've already improved!clap.gif
    tom wise
  • Options
    adbsgicomadbsgicom Registered Users Posts: 3,615 Major grins
    Really nice picture IMO.

Couple little things I noticed (I'm not a pro so feel free to ignore...):
    I'm a little distracted by the different color of her eyes (one is much darker than the other). Is that naturally how they are, or how they picked up the ambient light? She has lovely eyes either way....

The depth of field is a bit shallow (I do this all the time). What did you use (f-stop, lens focal length) to shoot this? Her eye to camera-right is a bit softer than the very sharp left eye. Overall it still works, though.

She has a wonderfully pleasant expression, and you captured that very well, which counts so much more.
    - Andrew

Who is wise? He who learns from everyone.
    My SmugMug Site
  • Options