Options

Macro Lens Recommendation Needed

ZanottiZanotti Registered Users Posts: 1,411 Major grins
edited June 16, 2005 in Cameras
I have been using digital cameras for about two years, semi seriously for the last year. I am ready to graduate from point and shoot (Fuji MX1200 to Canon SD100 to Canon s1 IS) to a dslr.

I have pretty much decided on the Canon Rebel XT, but dream of an EOS. Either cameras are probably better than I am!

The question is lenses. Most seem to say that you will ditch any of the kit lenses eventually for new ones. Back in my film days, I used a Minolta with a Vivitar 90mm f2.5 macro as my major lens. Loved the portraits it gave and could go to macro in an instant.

Any idea of the digital equivelent? It seems I liked close up or a slight telephoto, never did anything with the then standard 55 mm lens.

Z
It is the purpose of life that each of us strives to become actually what he is potentially. We should be obsessed with stretching towards that goal through the world we inhabit.

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,699 moderator
    edited June 16, 2005
    Zanotti wrote:
    I have been using digital cameras for about two years, semi seriously for the last year. I am ready to graduate from point and shoot (Fuji MX1200 to Canon SD100 to Canon s1 IS) to a dslr.

I have pretty much decided on the Canon Rebel XT, but dream of an EOS. Either cameras are probably better than I am!

The question is lenses. Most seem to say that you will ditch any of the kit lenses eventually for new ones. Back in my film days, I used a Minolta with a Vivitar 90mm f2.5 macro as my major lens. Loved the portraits it gave and could go to macro in an instant.

Any idea of the digital equivelent? It seems I liked close up or a slight telephoto, never did anything with the then standard 55 mm lens.

Z