Options

Building a Portfolio

tipsinartoktipsinartok Registered Users Posts: 61 Big grins
edited September 30, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
I want to take the jump into possibly offering photography services for people other than friends and family. The goal at this point isn't to make a lot of money, though that would be nice, but to continue building my portfolio and get some word of mouth out there. I don't want to undersell myself either, but I know that I'm still nowhere near the caliber that people here can put out. If I do make enough money, I'd love to take a photography course at the local college, but for now I'm mostly self-taught (I have taken an online course that was pretty helpful though).

I've read through a lot of the links in the sticky above, though the Wiki that is linked from one of them with pro tips isn't working anymore. I just wanted to post my plan of action and get some advice on it. I'd also love some advice/tips on my first few shoots. I've done a few friends, but I find it really hard to pose people and try and set up shots. I guess I should concentrate more on photojournalistic shots, but hopefully doing this I can build up some confidence and get better at posing too.

I hope to concentrate mostly on kids/families, and maternity. Maybe a bit of pets as well, though I don't think I have good enough equipment at the moment for that. (All I have are an external flash, a Canon XS with the kit lens, and a the 50mm f/1.8.) My next camera purchase will hopefully be a lens with better telefocus capabilities and then I hope to start donating time to some local rescues taking pictures of dogs and cats to get some experience doing that.