Options

How much for CD of images

marikrismarikris Registered Users Posts: 930 Major grins
edited October 7, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
I had asked this on the People forum, but i thought I might get more answers here:

Original thread at http://dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=145285 with pictures.

I don't charge a sitting fee because I'm not comfortable yet with guaranteeing the delivery of great (and having enough) pictures. I had a 5 hour shoot today and the lady wants to know how much for the CD instead of prints. What rules do you go by when deciding? I know she wants the pictures for her website to update her photographs for her clients to see (she's an interior designer), but at the same time, I'm not sure if she wants to print them out (72dpi vs 300 dpi?).

I have fully edited 11 pictures on her gallery, which she has visited, but still have a lot on Lightroom. As you can see, I'm very new to this and I don't know what I should be charging. I don't want to charge too much nor too little, but I have no idea what to base it on. I'm finding that the more I learn, the less I know and I have lots more mistakes to go :/

Much thanks to any help you can give ~

Comments

• Options
    edited September 29, 2009
    I just realized my biggest problem is I'm doing it all backwards! I fully edit the pictures, post em online and not know which pics she even want...!

Now the "proofs" make sense...I'm going to export small jpgs from lightroom with basic batch edits and post em in the same gallery http://krisfulk.com/portraits/elizabeth and have her pick the ones she wants, and the ones she wants me to retouch/edit. And then there's still the matter of how much to charge for edits vs non-edits, high res vs low res images. I know, I'm such a noob at business :/
  • Options
    BenoitBenoit Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
    edited September 30, 2009
    CD Image Pricing Structure
    Here is my approach to pricing electronic images