Options

What Did I Do Wrong - Too Much Shadow in Pics

JewelJewel Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited May 12, 2004 in Cameras
Just took some pics of my friend and her 2 kids this weekend. There is too much shadow in the pics. It was early morning. I just bought the Canon Eos 10d and Canon EX550 flash. The flash did flash but did not fill in the shadow.

Any advice would be much appreciated:
a) what to do in future shooting situations like this, and
b) can I fix this in Photoshop Elements

I am a beginner (obviously).

Picture is attached (hopefully).

Jewel

Comments

• Options
    wxwaxwxwax Registered Users Posts: 15,471 Major grins
    edited March 28, 2004
    Jewel, no piccie. Perhaps the shot is too large to attach. Did you wait and see if the attachment was successful?

If the attachment worked, you should see this message:

3127455-M.jpg

If the attachment's too big, you should see a message similar to this, instead.

3127454-M.jpg
    Sid.
    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam
    http://www.mcneel.com/users/jb/foghorn/ill_shut_up.au
  • Options
    fishfish Registered Users Posts: 2,950 Major grins
    edited March 28, 2004
    Hi Jewel,

Welcome. A lot of it has to do with which part of image you metered. If you are metering off the bright sunlight, the shadows will be very dark. If you meter off the shadows, the light parts will be blown out.

You might want to play with partial metering and exposure lock (check your manual).

fish
    "Consulting the rules of composition before taking a photograph, is like consulting the laws of gravity before going for a walk." - Edward Weston
    "The Edge... there is no honest way to explain it because the only people who really know where it is are the ones who have gone over."-Hunter S.Thompson
  • Options
    edited March 29, 2004
    Picture Attached