Options

Is my Nikon D40x toast?

JatZillaJatZilla Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins
edited October 15, 2009 in Cameras
Hello I'm new to photography so perhaps I'm missing something here. The problem is that when I take pictures in manual mode, the camera indicates correct exposure but the pictures come out terribly underexposed. Is the camera's light meter toast? Pictures in auto and other modes come out fine. Does anyone have a clue what may be going on?

In this folder below, the first picture is taken in manual mode and the second one in auto mode with the flash off.

http://picasaweb.google.com/mpowerdeep/20091011?authkey=Gv1sRgCNnKz9bz5I-eiAE&feat=directlink

Comments

• Options
    edited October 11, 2009
    Seymore wrote:
    Manual mode means YOU have to make the adjustments based on what the cameras meter tells you. I'd just suggest you use A, P or S modes.

I understand that. I make the adjustments until the camera indicates correct exposure, but the pictures come out looking underexposed.

Not using manual mode is not an option. Why buy an SLR if all you want to do is use preset modes?
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,915 moderator
    edited October 11, 2009
    JatZilla wrote:
    Hello I'm new to photography so perhaps I'm missing something here. The problem is that when I take pictures in manual mode, the camera indicates correct exposure but the pictures come out terribly underexposed. Is the camera's light meter toast? Pictures in auto and other modes come out fine. Does anyone have a clue what may be going on?

In this folder below, the first picture is taken in manual mode and the second one in auto mode with the flash off.

http://picasaweb.google.com/mpowerdeep/20091011?authkey=Gv1sRgCNnKz9bz5I-eiAE&feat=directlink

JatZilla, welcome to the Digital Grin. clap.gif