Options

Need flash help for football game tonight

MK ProductionsMK Productions Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited October 23, 2009 in Sports
I could really use some advice. I shoot hs night football games (and they do allow flash). My son is a SR. and 2 weeks ago it was raining - last week my flash got broke by a player so ths week I would really like some good pictures that I don't have to spend 5 hours touching up. I am still learning and can't find the information in my searches.

My set up:
Canon rxti
Canon E 70-200mm f/2.8L IS US
Canon Speedlite 580EX II
Jacob's Black Box (quatum battery pack for flash)

I have the flash below the lens on a monopod

By the time the sun is down - mysettings are at:
iso 1600 at 2.8 and 250 (though for some reason - the camera will change this.) with aiservo

After 2 years of experimenting and a professional with about the same set up (camera body better than mine) mentoring me, these settings work the best for the field conditions here.

MY QUESTION - I can not understand the flash - the pro will adjust it for me but I don't understand what he is doing. Can someone please tell me what settings the flash to be at and explain why? -or point me to a link (I have read several here but can't find the answer to my question.)

Thanks so much!
Mom photographer looking to get better
MK

Comments

• Options
    johngjohng Registered Users Posts: 1,658 Major grins
    edited October 23, 2009
    Set the flash in ETTL II mode. Some pros prefer to shoot manual flash settings but especially with your limited range of 70-200, ETTL II works just fine. The flash also has + & - adjustments for Flash Exposure Compensation (FEC). Depending on conditions somewhere in the -2/3 to +2/3 range works. Test shots will let you know - and just keep an eye on the photos as the game progresses.