Options

Need some advice

philbm900philbm900 Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited October 27, 2009 in Sports
Hi, I just started taking sports photography and I needed some advice...

I have a Cano Eos Rebel XSI with the stock lens.

I wanted to get a new lenses for sports photography.

I mainly shot paintball, motocross, snowboarding, mostly xtreme sports..

I ask around and people told me that i should either get the Canon ef 70-200mm f4 USM or the f2.8 USM

Which one do you guys think i should get?

Will I see a very big difference between my stock lens compared to these two lenses

At most of the events i dont have a tripod as i need to take pictures quickly at fast moving subjects..

Its mostly sunny but sometimes it rain ....

Also I am using adobe lightroom to edit my pictures. Any other program that is easy and good?

I am new to photography so please dont go with like crazy terms

thanks

Comments

• Options
    craig_dcraig_d Registered Users Posts: 911 Major grins
    edited October 21, 2009
    The standard kit lens with the Rebel XSi is an 18-55mm, so the 70-200mm doesn't even overlap it in focal length. They're very different lenses.

The kit lens goes from wide-angle to mild telephoto. It's a pretty decent lens by consumer kit standards, but nothing all that special. It can't take fast exposures, especially when zoomed in, due to the narrow maximum aperture of f/3.5-5.6. This pretty much dooms it as a sports lens, since sports shooting is all about catching fast action without blur.