Options

Rehearsals 1

divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
edited November 8, 2009 in Street and Documentary
I'd thought of doing a little photo essay for myself during this gig; while I am shooting, I've had nothing like as much time as I'd expected - the role is substantial and not easy to sing while fulfilling the character and staging demands (especially since this is my first time singing it) and has thus required my 120% attention during my own rehearsals.

However, I had the afternoon free yesterday while they worked with the kids' chorus and the ballet, so I decided to wander over a shoot for a little while. It's not quite what I was hoping for, which is to capture the curious mixture of terminal boredom and high energy which are always combined in a rehearsal room (in this case a large, dance studio with zillions of windows and tons of natural light - what a luxury for those of us used to working in big, closed arts centers with cinder block and fluorescents!).

We move into the theater today which will be an entirely different atmosphere again, but I'm glad I managed to catch these few shots; there will be more, I hope (assuming the week progresses well and I don't need to put the photographer entirely aside duringi the process)

1 Waiting for the next cue
(Yeah, I know ballet feet is done all the time, but it never ceases to fascinate me, especially when they're all in their sweats and practice shoes :D)

706833882_BrW9j-M.jpg

2. Maestro at work
706833863_P9xeC-M.jpg

3 The Production Table
(I wish I could've got more of the players on the "stage" area into the reflection, but the angle just wouldn't work for me - given that this was a working rehearsal and I was taking pictures for my own enjoyment rather than "officially", I didn't want to move around and be a distraction, especially since it was crowded and with kids ANY movement grabs their attention away from where it needs to be!)

706834027_UZ2mE-M.jpg

Comments

• Options