Options

Photoshop book?

ajgauthierajgauthier Registered Users Posts: 260 Major grins
edited August 22, 2005 in Finishing School
hi all,

I have basic Photoshop skills and can usually figure something out if needed (I'm a technologist by trade). Can anyone recommend a good all-inclusive medium to pro level "teach yourself" Photoshop book? I can peruse through the bookshelf in Borders or Barnes & Noble, but until you actually do the exercises, one can never tell if it's a good book or not.

Suggestions for a book?

Adrienne

Comments

• Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,931 moderator
    edited June 29, 2005
    ajgauthier wrote:
    hi all,
    Suggestions for a book?

Adrienne
    Adrienne,

My situation was much like yours...tech background and basic PS skills. I bought Photoshop 7 Artistry by Barry Haynes and Wendy Crumpler and have been happy with it. It is meant for photographers but has a bit of graphic design stuff as well. Very thorough discussion of how to solve real-world photography problems. Includes CD-ROM with sample images and exercises. I haven't looked at it, but the same authors have done a version for CS. There are many good books out there, but I think this one is all I will ever need. The rest is practice, practice, practice.

Cheers.
  • Options
    marlofmarlof Registered Users Posts: 1,833 Major grins
    edited June 29, 2005
    Although I'm not a big fan of his "look at my jokes, aren't I funny" writing style, I do find that Scott Kelby gives a very nice overview of the main aspects of Photoshop photographers encounter in Photoshop CS for Digital Photographers. A Photoshop CS2 version also exists.
    enjoy being here while getting there
  • Options
    patch29patch29 Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 2,928 Major grins
    edited June 29, 2005
    marlof wrote: