Options

Pricing Question

ShayebrydShayebryd Registered Users Posts: 165 Major grins
edited December 29, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
Hoping you might be able to help me with a situation.

Earlier this summer myself and another photographer agreed to do a bridal shower for free....our only request was travel expenses which were minimal.

A little history about myself and the other photog. I am an amateur and became involved in this for the experience. My friend has done 6 weddings to date approximately.

Upon seeing our work with the shower they asked if we would agree to do the wedding. We agreed on a price and have just completed uploading the wedding pix to our SmugMug sites.

At the time of the shower I was with SmugMugs basic plan, I have since upgraged to Pro.

For the Shower the bride, family , and any guests were able to print or save copies of all the photos I posted at no profit to me (I now realize this was a mistake.....lesson learned)

However, with the wedding photos they are now priced for sale at what we consider extremely reasonable. I just received a letter from the family shocked at the prices as they were expecting the same default prices from the shower.

In an effort to remain professional and not upset anyone I am hoping you might be able to advise on a reasonable and acceptable explanation. As I do understand their shock as we failed to mention the increase in price.

They will be receiving a CD of all the photos, they are welcome to get prints wherever they choose......but to lower the price would mean that if out of 150 that attended the wedding if only half were to order prints.....we would in essence be giving them the service for free.

Here is a link to my site if you would like to check out our prices......which I honestly feel are quite low. Even Walmart charges more.....please tell me what you think.
I have not attached the other photogs site here as I feel that would be at her discretion, though the prices reflected are the same.