Options

Metal, Giclee, Metallic, other - which would work best with this image?

troutstreamingtroutstreaming Registered Users Posts: 116 Major grins
edited December 29, 2009 in Finishing School
Apologies in advance as I have previously posted this on the other forum I frequent but received no replies.[FONT=Verdana, sans-serif]

I am looking for some advice - I want to print the attached image BIG and STRIKING to give as a gift to the athletic department of the school I shoot for (they picked the image). I have limited experience outside of the standard papers and I am very curious about metal (Bay Photo processed), Giclée - canvas, or maybe as a last option - metallic paper, as they already have a wall of 'standard' 20 x 24 images on paper purchased from me and I want this to stand out. Any thoughts on what presentation is most likely to pop with this image? And just how big can I go with it on that media?

[/FONT]<center>[FONT=Verdana, sans-serif]465928882_7rZG7-M.jpg[/FONT]</center>[FONT=Verdana, sans-serif]
The image is from a 1Ds Mk II with a 200 2.0 at 2.0, ISO 1600, 1/1000 so lots of initial quality to work with in post. I have not yet post-processed it by hand - this is just an autoprocessed rendition. At these setting there should not be any blown highlights on the uniforms in the original exposure.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Andy
[/FONT]
www.troutstreaming.com
Outdoor and Sports Media

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited December 19, 2009
    I have prints from a 1DSMk II printed at 20 x 30 inches that are grain free. They, however, were shot at ISO 100.