Options

Wedding payment arrangement

GemGemGemGem Registered Users Posts: 355 Major grins
edited January 19, 2010 in Weddings
Hi!

I am a family photographer and was asked to photograph a wedding this summer. The Mother of the groom asked if I would take a retainer of half down and the other half after she gets the picture CD. I initially asked her for half down, the other half two weeks before the wedding. She expressed she really likes my portrait work. I asked her if she would feel 100% comfortable hiring me vs. a seasonal wedding photographer and her answer was yes. I don't feel comfortable with her request though. It leaves too much room for anything.... Have any of you great wedding photographers made this type of arrangements before?

Thank you for your expert advice :)
GG

Comments

• Options
    l.k.madisonl.k.madison Registered Users Posts: 542 Major grins
    edited January 16, 2010
    GemGem wrote:
    Hi!

I am a family photographer and was asked to photograph a wedding this summer. The Mother of the groom asked if I would take a retainer of half down and the other half after she gets the picture CD. I initially asked her for half down, the other half two weeks before the wedding. She expressed she really likes my portrait work. I asked her if she would feel 100% comfortable hiring me vs. a seasonal wedding photographer and her answer was yes. I don't feel comfortable with her request though. It leaves too much room for anything.... Have any of you great wedding photographers made this type of arrangements before?

Thank you for your expert advice :)
    GG

Ask her if she pays for half of her groceries when she buys them and the other half when she cooks that for dinner?

I'd avoid that arrangement like the plague, it's just asking to get you (and her) in trouble, regardless of how much you trust her.

Don't EVER give over a service until that check has cleared, regardless of the service.

Just my two cents.
  • Options