Options

Inexpensive alternative to PS and LR

ruttrutt Registered Users Posts: 6,511 Major grins
edited January 25, 2010 in Street and Documentary
Lightzone costs $100, converts all RAW formats, offers both global and local editing (as opposed to LR which is exclusively global, i.e., no burning and dodging, no cloning, etc, etc.). It is based on Ansel Adam's darkroom ideas, particularly zones. If I were starting PP from scratch as a photographer, I'd try this first.

I played with it for B&W conversions. In addition to a number of built-in B&W styles, it supports the basic concepts of channel blending which I think are essential to full artistic control over conversions.

And there is a free trial (I don't know exactly how it's crippled.)
If not now, when?

Comments

• Options
    michswissmichswiss Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 2,235 Major grins
    edited January 25, 2010
    Hey Rutt. Good that you are keeping an eye out for LR/PS options. I'm an Aperture user and I'm somewhat surprised to hear that LR doesn't have Dodge & Burn or Cloning. I've thought about what to add to my toolkit when I need a bit more horsepower for a single image. The three that are always front of mind are PSE, PS or GIMP, but I've struggled to make a decision knowing that any of them will be a large investment to develop skills, much less the potential out-of-pocket costs.

My question though is: What should absolutely be in the toolkit of a PJ/Street/Doco photographer. Dodge & Burn, certainly. Cloning? I use cloning to clean up dust spots and lens flare on occasion. For the other stuff, I'll normally depend on a couple of technicians I work with for any final PP for printing. That's when PS comes into the equation to optimise the image for final output.

Your thoughts?
  • Options
    cj99sicj99si Registered Users Posts: 880 Major grins
    edited January 25, 2010