Looking for one lens that can do several things.

XLR8me!XLR8me! Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited January 31, 2010 in Cameras
Hello. I am new to DGrin. I have an EOS 7D body. I am wondering if there is one lens that will fulfill several purposes for me. It would be very helpful to get 3 different price ranges as well. Economical/Moderate/High End.

*What I intend to shoot - Portrait photography, low light photography, nature/landscapes and action shots. I also will probably crop my pics quite a bit as I usually see pictures within pics.

I know it may be a bit unrealistic to think that maybe there is such a lens -- but you never know and it couldn't hurt to ask :D

Thank you,
XLR8me!

Comments

• jgoetz4jgoetz4 Registered Users Posts: 1,267 Major grins
    edited January 30, 2010
    XLR8me! wrote:
    Hello. I am new to DGrin. I have an EOS 7D body. I am wondering if there is one lens that will fulfill several purposes for me. It would be very helpful to get 3 different price ranges as well. Economical/Moderate/High End.

*What I intend to shoot - Portrait photography, low light photography, nature/landscapes and action shots. I also will probably crop my pics quite a bit as I usually see pictures within pics.

I know it may be a bit unrealistic to think that maybe there is such a lens -- but you never know and it couldn't hurt to ask :D

Thank you,
    XLR8me!
    Good Evening XLR8me,
    In the words of Ziggy 53, welcome to the digital grin thumb.gif For portrait and low light photography, you want a fast lens, something like a 50 1.8 ($75) or an 85 1.8 ($340), whereas for landscapes, you want a wide angle lens, like a 20 2.8 ($350), or there abouts, stopped down to around f/11 or so. Since the 7D is a crop camera, the Tamron 17-50 2.8 ($325) might be what you're looking for. The Canon 17-55 IS ($800) is also very good, but about 2 1/2 x the cost of the Tamron. I'm sure you'll get a few other recommendations.
    Have a good evening :D
    Jim...