Options

Canon 50D or Rebel T1i with 18-55mm lens

TatianaTatiana Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited February 8, 2010 in Cameras
Ok. So I am JUST starting out. This will be my very first SLR! I have posted a previous thread and got amazing advice. But this is the final choices. Honestly, it is based on prices and reviews.

I will be using this camera for mostly portraits and of course my own personal hobby photos. I am looking for best value, EASY to learn (but also grow with) and affordability of all the "follow-up goodies" that I will need!

I see that a lot of people like the HD video option of the Rebel, but honestly I can't say that it makes a difference to me.

Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    OzzwaldOzzwald Registered Users Posts: 110 Major grins
    edited February 5, 2010
    I grew out of my lower end dslr pretty quick, once you get a hold of one i think its easy to figure it out and then you crave more functionality. i dont think there is a huge difference in learning curve, as long as you know the basics any DSLR can be easily used.

i think you should get a used 40D ~700 and a 50mm f/1.8 ~100 New.

50mm i think is a great starter lens. i doubt you'll miss or need a wider frame from the 18-55 especially if you are doing portraits. Lens is great in low light and produces high quality pictures...did i mention its inexpensive...
  • Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited February 5, 2010
    Camera choice ... of the two you have selected, I would go with the 50D, especially as the video holds no interest for you. And, for me, Autofocus Microadjustment was a life changing event/feature - something that's available on the 50D but not on the T1i. This single feature turned my pretty good lenses into eye-bleed sharp tools. Brought a whole new level of joy to my photography ... but I'm a bit more than a little OCD.