Options

Playing around with the clone stamp tool

scottcolbathscottcolbath Registered Users Posts: 278 Major grins
edited February 8, 2010 in Finishing School
I'm new to this tool. This is my third attempt at cleaning up a pic.

The before shot:

779790954_6BT6y-XL.jpg

The after shot:

779783091_7i34Q-XL.jpg

Looking at it again, I should have cleaned up the wood light post I removed where it meets the control tower. What about the flags? Stay or go? Maybe that other junk on top of the tower could have been removed too.

S.C.

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited February 2, 2010
    If you were a little lower and shot up higher, and to the right, you would have had sky for a background, and not had to worry about using the clone tool........thumb.gif

Whether you remove the flags is up to you, I think. Removing the post in front of the building, depends on what you want to do with this image, and how valuable it is, and your time is. What you have removed looks well done.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • Options
    RogersDARogersDA Registered Users Posts: 3,502 Major grins
    edited February 3, 2010
    Scott - like any tool you need to be careful. That swirly-movement with the clone brush produced some rather nasty image artifacts that are very prevalent where you removed that set of lights behind the biker.

I can post an edited version to better show if you want...
  • Options
    edited February 3, 2010
    RogersDA wrote:
    Scott - like any tool you need to be careful. That swirly-movement with the clone brush produced some rather nasty image artifacts that are very prevalent where you removed that set of lights behind the biker.

I can post an edited version to better show if you want...

Please do. I was aware of the artifacts, and tried to blend them in, but apparently didn't hit the mark.

Pathfinder, nice shot.