Options

Pricing different finishes

jswoolf01jswoolf01 Registered Users Posts: 31 Big grins
edited March 31, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
Advice needed, please:

I have been selling pictures in a small way for a couple of years now. I take pictures at small horse shows & events, and sell them through my Smugmug account. I've decided I need to get a lot more serious about it if I'm going to make it pay. So I'm thinking a lot about how to improve my marketing, including things like the products I offer and how I set prices. I'm also making up a "price list" flyer for handing out to people.

While doing this, I bumped into something that bothers me: the multiple 'finishes' that Smugmug offers: Matte, Glossy, Luster, and Metallic. I'm not especially interested in metallic prints. I don't intend to offer the metallic finish, as I don't think it fits either the pictures I take or the clients I'm selling to. But I'm not sure what to do about the other three. So, my question is: How does the question of finish affect your pricing? Do you:

* only offer one finish? If so, which one?

* offer multiple finishes, all with the same price? If so, which ones?

* offer multiple finishes at different prices? If so, how do you decide the price difference?

-- Jon W.

Comments

• Options
    takeflightphototakeflightphoto Registered Users Posts: 194 Major grins
    edited March 31, 2010
    Prints in Lustre only, and only in sizes that don't require cropping or the image at checkout.
    Canvas, MetalPrints, and ThinWraps in sizes that don't require cropping of the image at checkout.
    That way I control the compostion of the finished product.

Once SM gets a Bay Photo mounted print in the mix I may drop unmounted prints of my 'fine art' work.
    I will always offer Lustre prints for weddings and portraits, to be mounted/framed by the customer.
  • Options
    jswoolf01jswoolf01 Registered Users Posts: 31 Big grins
    edited March 31, 2010
    Thanks for the quick response.