Options

CC anyone?

mariapmariap Registered Users Posts: 16 Big grins
edited April 3, 2010 in People
Hi. I am not new to Smugmug but I am new to DGin. Looking to improve my photographs (from snapshots to something I would really consider great) and would love any constructive critism. I am definitely an amateur. Until recently I shot primarily in Av (Manual scared me) but I have recently switched over to Manual mode. I also dabble in both Lightroom and CS2.

Thanks!

820817040_FAUhA-XL.jpg
820816953_hGqEy-XL.jpg

820816763_ufeLt-XL.jpg

826235449_WYrjq-XL.jpg

1, 2, 3 were from last weekend.

4 was from today - is it over processed? It was taken at the mall with flash so the lighting not great. ps. she was pretending to be a bunny.

Maria

Comments

• Options
    edited April 3, 2010
    Really? 91 views and no comments? Did I post in the wrong forum?
  • Options
    SwartzySwartzy Registered Users Posts: 3,293 Major grins
    edited April 3, 2010
    Welcome to the funny farm Maria! Please allow some observations that may be of help:

First...she is a cutie! I'll bet you'll learn lots simply by using her as your muse. I'm not a huge fan of the muted/cast type coloring throughout the series. It works once in awhile but don't be afraid to use real colors (and color balance) to make the images pop. Take care not to "center" your subject in the frame. Rules are meant to be broken but a rule of thumb is to off center your subject and use your background elements to "enhance" your subject. Think of the simple rule of 3rds...both top to bottom, left to right.

The light looks fairly even and flat..which isn't a bad thing at all...it's just that having a bit more light on your subject and a little less on the surroundings can also improve the viewer's attention span.

Keep shooting cause they grow up way too fast!
    Swartzy:
    NAPP Member | Canon Shooter
    Weddings/Portraits and anything else that catches my eye.
    www.daveswartz.com