Options

Church Wedding NO Flash! HELP!

GinGinGinGin Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
edited April 12, 2010 in Weddings
Hi all,

I have just purchased the 5D II I have a church wedding that I am doing. I just found out there is no flash allowed and I have to stand in the very back! I have a 24-105 4.0 IS and have ordered the 70-200 2.8 IS II. I am starting to think that I don't have the proper equipment for this wedding or afraid the knowledge. My client is aware that I am a beginning photographer. I am going to the church all next week to do some practice. I might just tell the bride she will be better off with a more experienced photographer. Any tips would be wonderful.

Comments

• Options
    urbanariesurbanaries Registered Users Posts: 2,690 Major grins
    edited April 8, 2010
    do you have a tripod?

Unless the church is an extremely dark cave, i'd think you'd do ok except during the processional when they are moving. But if you aren't even allowed to capture that...???

If you are allowed to stand in the aisle while they're walking down, you might need something wider in the 2.8 range. I rarely shoot flash even during processionals these days...a prime like a 50 1.4 would be something I'd have in my bag for sure given your current lens lineup.
    Canon 5D MkI
    50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 24-70 2.8L, 35mm 1.4L, 135mm f2L
    ST-E2 Transmitter + (3) 580 EXII + radio poppers
  • Options
    edited April 8, 2010
    831342059_tyzA9-X3.jpg

This was a fairly old church with small, stained glass windows. It doesn't look dark because it's well exposed, but it was. Wth them moving I was able to stop the action at 1/100, f2.5, ISO 1600 (focal length 35mm). Now, getting them to SMILE is a whole other issue... rolleyes1.gif

Don't be afraid to use ISO 1600 on that 5D...that's your key to success in these situations.