Options

HDR Photography

lilmommalilmomma Registered Users Posts: 1,060 Major grins
edited April 16, 2010 in Finishing School
Is it any way possible at all to do hdr photography in photoshop elements? It looks like it's merging more than one photos with different exposures, but there's not an HDR function in there. Also, i have GIMP, which I haven't used a lot because i'm still learning, but I HAVE to learn how to do that HDR!!!

Comments

• Options
    kdogkdog Administrators Posts: 11,681 moderator
    edited March 15, 2009
    lilmomma wrote:
    Is it any way possible at all to do hdr photography in photoshop elements? It looks like it's merging more than one photos with different exposures, but there's not an HDR function in there. Also, i have GIMP, which I haven't used a lot because i'm still learning, but I HAVE to learn how to do that HDR!!!

Doubtful. HDR generally takes two steps: merging and tone-mapping. I don't know about Elements, but CS3 can merge. However, it's terrible at tone-mapping, which is where all the magic takes place. You get to play with curves, and that's about it. I'm sure Elements is just as bad or worse at it.
  • Options
    theNOIZtheNOIZ Registered Users Posts: 272 Major grins
    edited March 15, 2009
    lilmomma wrote:
    lilmomma,

Here are some HDR freebies worth a try:

Qtpfsgui - An open source graphical user interface application that aims to provide a workflow for HDR imaging.

Picturenaut - Born in the German photo community. It has been in the works for almost two years, with consistent improvements according to user feedback. That's why the first official release is already Version 2.1, marking a new milestone in making high quality HDR Imaging accessible and easy.
  • Options
    lilmommalilmomma Registered Users Posts: 1,060 Major grins
    edited March 16, 2009
    theNOIZ wrote:
    lilmomma,

Here are some HDR freebies worth a try: