Options

PS & LR newbie

cab.in.bostoncab.in.boston Registered Users Posts: 634 Major grins
edited April 20, 2010 in Finishing School
I'm still a newbie to photography in general, but even more so to post-processing. I have been trying to get a feel for PS and LR, to be more specific, I am trying to figure out how to use them and for what - a basic workflow question, I guess.

I am a student until next month, and so due to the incredible discounts I am planning on purchasing CS5 Extended Student/Teacher Edition and LR (I wish LR3 would hurry up and be released, I'd rather not buy LR2 and then have to upgrade). My wife and I have been playing around with the Beta Test version of LR and like it a lot. I know that we are really not "ready" to use PS, but I can't pass it up at this price, since my window of opportunity for student pricing closes in a month or so.

I know that to do major editing, PS is the way to go, but that some things can be done in LR. I'm curious why one would use LR over PS, or what the main basic functions of the two applications are. I have heard about Bridge, and that it's for bringing files from LR to PS and back again, but I'm really uncertain how it all works together.

Does someone have a really bare-bones description about how the programs are used, why you'd need one vs. the other for a particular photo, etc, or are there any good explanatory links on this topic that are already out there? I didn't see anything when I poked around for a bit.

One other quick question, I see that CS5 does HDR, can you also do pano-stitching in PS, or do you need another application for that?

Thanks for any help pointing a newbie down the right path.
Father, husband, dog lover, engineer, Nikon shooter
My site 365 Project

Comments

• Options
    ABCLABCL Registered Users Posts: 80 Big grins
    edited April 20, 2010
    I'll try my best :)